Stephanie Hancock's Blog

Home of The Healing Vine

Happy Father’s Day June 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — steviehanc @ 10:12 pm

It’s Fathers Day, Sunday, June 18th this year. I made my husband, father of my children breakfast in bed and he gets to lie around today and do absolutely nothing! I wish I could shower him with gifts. He is the best Dad ever! Having the day off is a treat for him as he works so hard and has so many projects going on. Having your own business means you rarely get a day off. Sweetie, enjoy your day.
John Ralph Eubanks, my bio-dad, died when I was just 5 years old. He was a boxer, and from what I hear a pretty good one. He was a contender for the Golden Gloves Championship which is a big deal in boxing circles. I don’t have clear memories of him. I only have one photo which is a copy of a dime store photo booth picture from the 1960s. He’s been gone for over 40 years and I still miss him.
He will come to mind from time to time when I look at my sons face. He will have an expression that will make me see my Dad’s face.
Every milestone in my life I wish that he could have been there; graduation from High School, joining the Air Force, my first concert, College, walking me down the aisle at my wedding. It’s those times when I wish that he was there, smiling at me, telling me how proud he was. I feel a bit sad, then I see my husband playing with our children and it warms my heart.
Celebrate your Dad, Father, Pop Pop, G-Pa or whatever pet name you call him. Love and celebrate him today and every day. He’s Dad.

 

Leave a Reply

