Stephanie Hancock's Blog

Home of The Healing Vine

So how’s it going? February 24, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — steviehanc @ 3:49 am

Writing is a process.

StephanieEvery songwriter has a creative process. Sometimes a song will come to me organically. I’ll hear a melody and start humming a tune and then words will come and some time later the hook, bridge an verses will form. Most of the time, my husband will have a melody and ask me what I am hearing in the tune. I’ll sit down with a pen and paper and scribble. I’ll work it and re work it until I have a tune I’m ready to record. This is not a quick process at all. It’s like following a recipe that has been perfected over time. I need to follow the steps to get the results I want. When I write I always keep in mind what I want to communicate. I write about where my heart is, I write about love. My love for people, my love for life, my love for God. Not all of the tunes are for me, I have tunes waiting for the person they are meant for to sing them.

So how’s it going? I’m pushing myself to be disciplined to complete the task, to meet the goal I have set for myself. That is to have 3 new songs written. Ultimately I want to work full time as a minister and musician, using art as the message medium.
The going is tough, but I never thought it would be easy. By putting myself out there I have a mission that I must complete.

I have the beginnings of the first one working now.

I can do this, I will do this, I am doing this.

Until next time,
Blessings and Peace.

 

Leave a Reply

